My Future Fishing Pal

DSC_0549

August 7, 2015 is a day that I will never forget.  Similar to the memories of our wedding day, August 7th is one of the greatest days of my life. It is the day that our first child was born.  He is healthy, and his mother and I could not be more proud.  I am beyond words with excitement. Gideon is the light of my eye, and there are so many things that I am excited to share with my son, many…like my father shared with me. Even though he is only a few days old, and I have so much to look forward, I don’t want to rush anything. I already know that he is going to grow up so fast and time is going to fly by right in front of my eyes.

As I cherish watching him experience his first days on earth, I still think about how much fun it is going to be to teach my son how to fish, take him into the woods, and to instill upon him an all around love and respect for the outdoors. I realize now more that ever that it is so important to pass these experiences and knowledge down to future generations, and I fully intend to pass down everthing I know with the hope that my children love and respect the outdoors as much as I do.

It is now time to start looking for things like waders, rods, packs, and chacos.  One of my weaknesses is that I love gear.  I like trying new gear and comparing it with old.  This gear does not always have to be for me.  I am going to start compiling gear for Gideon so he will have the opportunities to enjoy many adventures.  Since he was born last week, I think I have plenty of time to shop.

Grahm

Leave a Reply

